News and Events


WNMU Adult Education Students to Be Named “Outstanding Students of the Year” by NM Legislature


SILVER CITY, NM—Two Western New Mexico University students will be honored as “Outstanding Students of the Year” during the New Mexico legislative session. Rose Le and Antonio Jimenez have been invited to a press conference for Adult Education and Literacy Day in conjunction with Higher Education Day. Both students are enrolled in the Adult Education Program at WNMU and Le has also studied with Literacy Link – Leamos, which nominated her for the honor. Jimenez was nominated by WNMU.


Le is originally from Vietnam and has been working on her English language skills with tutors Kristina Kenegos and Jay Devyldere. She is now studying toward her high school equivalency at WNMU. Kenegos said, “Rose appreciates learning and is an inspiration in her ability to handle a full-time job, raise a daughter and work toward a higher level of study at the same time.”


Le credits her tutors for her achievement. “I couldn't achieve the Outstanding Student [award] without them,” she said, adding, “I'm so excited for the trip to the Round House.”


Jimenez has been tutored by Yarrow Mead, who nominated him for the award. According to Mead, “Antonio is a hardworking student who works several jobs to support his mom, who was recently in a very serious car accident. He has always been a really pleasant addition to class, as he is nice to everyone.”


Jimenez said he was surprised to learn he was getting the award, and feels it is an affirmation of his educational path. “It helps give me the motivation to continue my education and be a better person,” he said, “It is very rewarding to get recognition for the hard work I have been putting in to accomplish my goals.” Jimenez said he would not be receiving the award if not for the tutors in the WNMU Adult Education program. “It’s is great to have a supportive staff to help and motivate me to achieve my goals,” he said.


The Outstanding Students of the Year will be announced at a press conference to be held 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM on Tuesday, February 13 at the Roundhouse Rotunda. After the conference Le and Jimenez will have an opportunity to visit the House and Senate galleries, where their accomplishments will be recognized by the Legislature.





Since 1893, Western New Mexico University has served the people in its region as a comprehensive, rural, public body. As a Hispanic-Serving Institution and the state’s only public Applied Liberal Arts and Sciences university, WNMU is committed to developing cross-cultural opportunities that encourage people to explore new experiences. The WNMU student body represents every segment of southwest New Mexico’s diverse population.